This information typically goes in the “About Me” Section

I just have too many characteristics and interests I want to share with the world. Some of it is horribly boring, while other bits I hope you can find useful, or at the very least interesting and possibly educational. Here goes.

I was born March 26, 1992 in Reno, Nevada to Suzanne and Lorne Redmond. I am the oldest of three children, followed by my sister Kayla on October 17, 1999 and my brother Zachary, or Zac, on August 16, 2001. I have lived in Utah for all but two years of my life, the first two being in Reno where I was born.

I grew up in Cottonwood Heights, Utah, where I met my best and oldest friends, the Cockburn (pronounced co-burn) family. For eleven years I lived at the house on Steffensen Drive, and learned most of what makes me Melody.

There I was blessed with a beautiful backyard that proved to give me the building blocks of my imagination. In it, I could discover far away lands, locked beneath a cryptic code, or I could be scouring the desert for long-lost treasure. Many a story and friend was created in the time I spent in my beautiful backyard. (I’ll make a mental note to hunt for some pictures and put them up here.

And if that wasn’t enough to produce an amazing and creative imagination, I lived five minutes driving time away from Big Cottonwood Canyon. Many of the campsites were laid out next to a beautiful stream, enabling the adventuresome visitor access to its innermost workings. Some of my poems which I am actually quite fond of have started in the middle of those streams.

As previously mentioned, I spent most of my early childhood years exploring my backyard. In snow, rain or sunshine, I loved seeing each stage of life blossom and fade away as I grew and added to my knowledge and imagination

My love of writing started when I was eight. My little sister had just been born, and my mom was trying to spend some time with me amidst all of her responsibilities. I don’t remember whose idea it was, but the suggestion was made to make a comic. The comic wasn’t all that great (looking back, the content is horrible, the writing is sub par, and the drawings are not worth mentioning), but I loved each one of them dearly. The premise of the comic was a superhero whose goal in life was to ban nakedness by giving the world an overcoat…and having the process go horribly wrong. No one understands or appreciates her, yet she really truly is trying to help the world to the best of her ability.
Now that I think about it, that really does say a lot about what I aim for throughout my entire life.
The main character in the comic is Aqua Overcoat. She spends her days trying to convince cannibals, nude beach goers, and mothers of naked new born children to cover up their immodesty. To her it is inappropriate and she is going about trying to correct the wrong she finds in the world with the abilities and tools she has with her.
Though I do not happen to have copious amounts of overcoats, I too have made it my duty to go about correcting the wrong I see in the world. My tools are much less physical and discernible to the eye, but are nonetheless powerful. Unlike Aqua, most of those I go about trying to help are grateful for what I give them and for the most part eventually see the wrong I try to resolve.
One other incredibly important development in my writing career. As a small child, I had my moments of glory as well as my moments of weakness. I will not claim by any small means that I was perfectly behaved or obedient, as there were many moments in which I chose to rebel against my parents.
One time in particular sticks out in my head. In elementary school, the Parent Teacher Association (or PTA) held a yearly art content called Reflections. There were multiple categories, including visual art, photography and writing. I really wanted to enter the contest for that year and had stayed after school for one reason or another to do so. Part way through the time alloted, I wandered out to the playground and stayed there until dusk (which at the very least meant that a few hours had gone by). When I came inside, my teacher told me that I had to go home immediately, as my mom had called repeatedly to find out where I was.
When I reached my house, I came upon a cop car with the lights flashing. Being very young at the time, I thought very little of the sight aside from ‘well, that’s weird’.

The minute I stepped in the door I could see that something major had gone wrong. My father then scolded me for neglecting to inform anyone of my whereabouts (I doubt it was that eloquently worded, but you get the gist of it). I had worried my mother tremendously and would go to my room until he could think of an appropriate punishment.  

After some unimportant amount of time, he came in and told me that I would have to write a report about why its bad not to let anyone know where you are, and the dangers of doing so. The report had to be exactly 1000 words long. That’s longer than most college scholarship essays, and I was doing that before I was ten!

Being the adventuresome kid I was at the time (as well as being grounded from reading and playing with friends) I worked to get the report done immediately. After a few days, I finished it and my father looked it over, correcting and asking me questions as he saw fit. Once he was satisfied, and once I had appropriately apologized to my mom, I was free to go back to life as I knew it.

I know there were a few other times where my punishment was another one of these reports, but after a while they really weren’t that bad. I took the time to revise and improve them, and after a while I actually grew to enjoy writing the reports.

And now I am pursuing a degree incorporating every type of writing taught at Westminster College. Currently, I am starting my Sophomore year at Westminster College. I am not only enrolled in the honors program, but also a peer mentor to incoming freshmen in the program. This year I am the poetry editor of Ellipsis, which is a huge time commitment, and embarking on a service project collaboration with the University of Utah. Somewhat related, I am working on a scholarship essay for the Ayn Rand Institute concerning Atlas Shrugged, and have found this book one of the most applicable teachings and views of humanity I have read. This will definitely not be the end of my work with this book.

My favorite color is by far yellow, but I am a huge fan of all things colorful and bright. I love cooking and enjoy trying out new recipes. I love getting wet and being in flowing water. Though I get very few opportunities, I love exploring new places and having new experiences. If you travel, PLEASE take me with you!

I’ve gone on long enough for this entry. Tune in next time to hear about the aspects, pros, cons, and necessities of clinical depression.
And make sure to smile at someone today. They’ll thank you for it later.

Leave a Reply

