Religion Vs. Spirituality

I’ve spent the last ten minutes debating on what to write on today, and this was the most prominent idea that popped up.
Before I begin I want to clarify that everything I am about to say comes from me and are not direct preachings of any prophet or church. I have found these statements to be true, but will not attribute them to any doctrine so as not to confuse my beliefs with the teachings of any church.

Many of you may know that I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (more commonly known as the “Mormons”). I know for myself that Jesus Christ is our Redeemer and Savior and that Families are Forever (if we so choose for them to be.)

That does not mean that I believe that anyone who does not believe as I do is completely wrong or is heading to Hell. Though I believe that my religion is the whole truth, there are still many ways to receive and know of the truth.
The LDS faith is not for everyone. In teaching, it is a lifestyle and a better way to reach God and to live with him again. Though we have many peculiar “rules”, there are reasons behind each one that make sense, but that absolutely must be viewed within context.

Let me back up a little bit here. This concept of Religion Vs. Spirituality does not only apply to those within the LDS faith. It applies to all churches, religions, and ways of life.

To me, Religion is an organized method of carrying out teachings of different churches. It is the rules, precepts, and doctrines that make up a church or sect. Simple.
Spirituality on the other hand is not so easily defined. It can be described as simply feeling good, knowing for yourself what the truth is, or having an experience that helps clarify a teaching given to you via religion.

They are not, I repeat, not one and the same.

A person can be deeply religious, holding fast to the letter of the law, spouting out doctrine after doctrine and have no idea of the implications. They can even be a horrible person who commits some of the worst sins.

Likewise, a person who does not ascribe to any sort of religious concept, yet is deeply spiritual in their daily dealings with their fellow men are some of the kindest people I have ever met.
They have already established their morals and will hold to them, while still seeking to find light in their own way.

Religion should be used as a guideline for those who aren’t sure of where to look for guidance, who need a little push out of the place they have become lost in.
Spirituality is what Religion strives to inspire in those that come to it for light. Spirituality can also be found in the way the sun sets, in a certain combination of words or strokes. Even out the window on the way to work, if one is looking hard enough, spirituality is found.

I know of quite a few people who make judgements based upon the sect or religion of another, and it saddens me to see this happen. Yes, it’s true that some people who don’t go to church, or who don’t believe in religion really are horrible people, but that is not the case for many. Take the time to get to know the person before you decide they are headed to Hell, or even don’t deserve your time of day.

I promise you’ll find quite a few gems in what you once thought was mere dirt.

3 thoughts on “Religion Vs. Spirituality

Leave a Reply

