Marriage

Where Jacob and I are to be married for time and all eternity

Today marks the last day of my single life. And despite the many remarks chastising me for getting married so young, or in the middle of a school semester, I still stand by this decision as one of the greatest and timeliest ones I have made.

However, those remarks impress upon me. I must share with you why getting married in unfavorable circumstances does not faze me (for the most part, anyways).

Many view marriage as an indication that the man and woman are ready to begin a family, therefore marriage can only lead to children. I know of many couples (both LDS and otherwise) who are well one in their life and have not had children. These couples are among the happier ones I have met in my short time here.

A couple hundred years ago, marriage was a way to improve one’s circumstances. If a woman came from a poor family, her father would promise her to a wealthy, yet unpleasant, gentleman. Only very recently has the notion of marrying for love really been accepted in our society.

Jacob and I have been together for a little over two years. We are in no way rushing into this decision, but in fact have spent a lot of time considering the implications, pros and cons of getting married.

Though I do not want to speak on his behalf, marriage is more an emotion state than a physical state of being. For quite some time, I have longed to have that commitment and closeness only marriage brings: the reassurance that I will always have love to return to after all that I longed for fell through. The knowledge that I will not have to face my depression alone, or that I have someone else to bounce my crazy ideas off of. The evidence that I deserve love, that I can chase my dreams. I have found that and so much more in Jacob.

Tomorrow we will be sealed for time and all eternity. I can’t think of a person more deserving of my life than the man I am pledged to give it to tomorrow morning.

2 thoughts on “Marriage

  1. I got married young, Melody. I was nineteen and he was twenty-two. Despite what the world says, getting married young helps solidify your relationship because you finish growing up together. (Which, technically, we are all growing up until we die. Marry young and you get a head start.) The older we get, the more set in our ways we get. I know for certain that change is more difficult when we are more set in our ways. Our routines run deeper and our way of thinking seems more absolute. We become more prideful and certain that we are right. From my experience, marrying young helped us to become solidified in our routines together. We have already made many of the changes we needed to make so that we could better accommodate and support each other. We’ve gained trust and perspective that we would not have gained had we waited to marry until we were older.

    We did have children right away, and now it is very likely that I will be a grandma while I am still in my forties. Personally, I think that rocks!

    If the two of you are determined to make it work–and if you include God in your relationship–you will make it work. Best wishes for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

