Christmas Bells are Ringing

Christmas this year didn’t come wrapped in tinsel or bows. Christmas this year didn’t come with an enormous tree, taking up all the extra space in the living room. Christmas didn’t even come with the carols bounding left and right.

Instead Christmas came packaged in true love.

This is my first Christmas away from my family and with my eternal companion.

Honestly, I’m glad that we didn’t have the money for ornaments or a tree. That way, we can focus on what Christmas truly means, both for us and for the rest of the world.

And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name Jesus: for he shall save his people from their sins.

Now all this was done, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken of the Lord by the prophet, saying,

Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.

Then Joseph being raised from sleep did as the angel of the Lord had bidden him, and took unto him his wife:

And knew her not till she had brought forth her firstborn son: and he called his name Jesus
.

I chose this as many of us who celebrate Christmas tend to look over this part of the story. We place emphasis on the actual birth of Christ in a manger. But here, evidence supports the claim that this event, this key piece in the fight alludes to much more at hand. The beginning was even further out than the spiritual conception of Christ. Here we see that Christmas tells the story of the good guys winning from the beginning.
Below, The Latter-Day Saint version of this fight (or at least, part of it).

We believe this fight started up in heaven, where many of us picked who we would follow. All of us who have come to Earth chose in Heaven to follow Christ. Those souls who serve Lucifer (or Satan, the devil as we know him) did not get to come to Earth in a mortal body.

But this is not the only version out there. Many other religions and soul searching individuals have touched on a piece of this fight. We all strive to find truth, and this rests as only a piece of it.

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I stand by my Savior Jesus Christ as the one true redeemer and I will live and die for him. But I will also proclaim that to each his own. The Savior allows for each to find his own path and I will respect another’s choice to follow another way. For that is after all what the gift of agency allows for.

But as for me, I will fight for the side of truth and good. I will fight to proclaim his love to all the world, and love those who would spite me, who would see me dead. There are many who may find this offensive, but that is their choice.

My way to the Savior is to save others. I have chosen to use my gift of storytelling and writing to share that love, that light with any I can get my work out to.

I’m curious to know your thoughts. What part of the fight between good and evil do you want to proclaim? What part of this fight have you seen for yourself, and what has it done for your life?

As for me, I will put this Christmas towards furthering that work.

Keep a look out for it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

