Out with the Old

New Years: a time of endings, a time of beginnings.

This week’s confession has a lot to do with that.

Confession: I’m really bad with endings.

That shock of reality when you realize “that’s it, there isn’t anymore”, I often don’t know what to do with myself. I feel disconnected, I feel sort of like this:

(p.s. that isn’t me. It’s one of my really close friends)

I guess I get a sort of dysphoria, a sadness that I can’t share in that story after I finish it. Ending a relationship. I just hate leaving things behind.

So even though last year held a lot of trials, a lot of pain and suffering, leaving it behind still has me a little troubled.

I know beyond a doubt that this year will bring much better tidings, a lot of opportunities and growth. But…leaving anything behind, even if it is the worst thing I’ve been through should be much easier.

And yet I have this urge to finish what I start. Funny how such a paradox exists.

This is why I have so many unfinished projects. I don’t want to leave them behind. But this also makes the problem of too much to work on.

Any suggestions of how to fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

