Aunt Bertha’s Waffles

Waffles can go with just about anything. Personally I can’t decide between peanut butter and syrup or whipped cream and syrupy strawberries.

But I’ve also heard that waffles go well with salt and pepper or ice cream, (which then leads to a lot of other possibilities like what kind of ice cream do you put with it, or do you make it a sundae). I’ve seen jam and marmalade, and even just plain butter.

When we got a waffle maker for our wedding, it came with a small booklet filled with recipes for waffles. The first time we had waffles, I remember them being  crunchy like a waffle cone.

Last night, I couldn’t find that booklet. But I have so many recipe books, I figured I would have a waffle recipe somewhere. Turns out I did…from the 1920’s.

And I’ve never  thought that waffles would be so difficult to make. Mostly because I had to separate the egg whites and dirty three bowls. Whenever my mom made them, I remember she mixed everything into one bowl and that was it. But not with these ones. Here is the recipe:

5 eggs, separated

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups milk

2 2/3 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter, melted, cooled

Beat yolks until light in color, add sugar and milk. In a separate bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt, then add to egg yolk mixture and mix until smooth (no lumps!). Add cooled, melted butter. Lastly, fold in stiffly beaten egg white. (which for those of you who don’t know how to stiffly beat an egg white, the recipe is simple, but the process isn’t. Basically you take your egg whites, add a pinch of salt and begin beating them. Then you add a few drops of vinegar after you’ve beaten them and go until they start to solidify. With a hand whisk, this takes a really long time.)

P.S. This recipe will produce a lot of waffles and will probably feed at least four people, if not more. It also goes well with bacon.

Oh and another plus to waffles, they are really cheap to make! If your pantry is fully stocked, you can make them just about anytime.

Leave a Reply

