Sophmore Year

This week marks the first full week of the semester. It is also the first semester I have been this excited for.

As you know, last semester I switched my major from English Literature to Communication and already I see the benefits of doing so. As a writer wanting to take my passion into the work place, I long for a place in which I can practice my skills while writing my own work.

Communication not only does that, but provides valuable job experience as well.

This semester, I really can’t decide which classes I am looking forward to the most. I have Arts and Performance, which takes the place of a general, as it is an Honors Seminar. Here, we will study some Art History, a lot of application, and practice creating our own work. I could work my poetry in here, but we’ll see what happens.

I also have Principles of Layout and Design, which will give me experience in working on a magazine, making things come together well. Plus, as a poet, I really do think that taking advantage of all the space is incredibly important. If I were to go into this field, I would want to work at the Ensign or New Era.

The class I think will be most beneficial to me is Professional Writing. Though a lot of the subject matter is boring, like writing memos and business reports, I feel that the skills I learn here will really help me in my other classes. Plus, the professor is someone I think will be incredibly valuable later on (I’ve also been recommended to her by another professor).

My last class is Human Culture and Behavior, which I’m looking forward to mostly for the different viewpoints I think I will come across.

But overall, this semester is refreshingly different. I don’t already feel overwhelmed, or have a ridiculous amount of homework to do, which is a first.

Somethings coming up:

In February I am going to my first ever literary conference. The Association of Writers and Writing Programs in Chicago. Through my position at Ellipsis, I am going all expenses paid.

Being that I am in the middle of writing a book, this conference holds a lot of potential. I don’t want to get too worked up about it, as I don’t know what will happen, but I am incredibly excited.

Jacob and I are moving soon.We’re transitioning from Grandma’s house to a dinky student apartment, which is about as cozy as this:

 

As you can see, we’re not too excited.

I love looking back and seeing how certain things tie together. Now, I’m not going to reveal exactly what I’m talking about yet, but you’ll see what I mean.

P.S. I’m looking for babysitting jobs in the Salt Lake City/Sugarhouse area. If you or anyone you know needs a babysitter, please contact me. I have good credentials and a lot of experience (watching five girls under the age of eight was quite the ride).

Leave a Reply

