5 thoughts on “A 90’s fashion sense

  1. Well I am not a fashion expert by any means but I have watched a LOT of “what not to wear” episodes and they are the experts. one of the things they talk about for women like us who have curves is to find some good jackets. it has to be ones that fit in all the right spots and you absolutely love. jackets can be really slimming . another thing they always say is fit the biggest part of your body like getting wide-leg pants/jeans that dont cling to your hips and butt it makes you look good and thinner. the smallest part of a womans body is right under their boobs on their rib cage. so accentuate that part to create an hour-glass shape. and accessories can make an outfit . you can take clothes that you already have and make it something you like by adding little touches like a belt,jewerly,a purse, etc that makes it your style. I hope this helped :)

  2. I say wear what you feel comfortable and cute in! If you’re comfortable and you feel cute in “hippie” clothes, then you should wear that! That’s just my 2 cents. I’m not an expert on what kind of clothes are flattering on what body type. I just think that people can tell if you are uncomfortable in what you are wearing, even if it’s “fashionable” in which case it probably wouldn’t look fashionable anyway, so I would wear what makes me feel cute. Try mixing outfits up and experimenting to see what will work best for you! :) I hope that helps! :)

  3. Actually, from what i understand, higher-waisted jeans are coming back into fashion somewhat, so you may just be on the cutting-edge! :D

    As far as clothes for a curvy body type, i personally have found that things like a-line skirts and dresses are very flattering, as they show off the curves that are in the “right” places, and hide all the other ones. If you want to wear leggings, try wearing control-top tights or pantyhose under them… i’ve found that those things do wonders!

    But really, i think the bottom line is that if what you’re wearing looks good on you, who cares whether it’s “in style!” The true point of fashion is to flatter your body type and wear what works best on you, and doing that will make you much more attractive (and confident!) than trying to wear “fashionable” styles that don’t look good on you. Trust me! :)

    • Batterwitch,

      I like your ideas. The problem here doesn’t deal with them being in style, it’s that I feel this style no longer represents who I am.
      And I don’t really know how to go about judging that.

      • Ahhh, i see! Well, i totally understand how that is — i kinda went through a “style crisis” of my own recently, and didn’t really know what to do about it. I think i finally settled on a style that was sort of an intersection between what i liked and what looked good on me, but i have to admit that it took me a little while to resign myself to the fact that not everything i liked WOULD look good. Depressing revelation, that. :/

        As far as knowing whether your style still represents who you are, i would personally say that if i no longer feel comfortable or attractive in a certain style or piece of clothing, then it no longer works for me… It seems kinda simplistic, but it seems to work for me…. :)

Leave a Reply

