Dramatic

Confession: I hate drama.

Soap operas, reality TV, chic flicks, high school life, gossipy women (and sometimes even men.)

I do not understand how a society can thrive on gossiping, rumor spreading, and over all drama inducing incidents.

But, that might just be me.

This despise for drama is likely one of the main reasons I don’t connect well with the female population at large. Most (not all) of their lives are built on statements like:

“Did you hear?”

“Did you know…?”

“I would never…”

“I don’t believe it!…”

How else do you explain the popularity of shows like The Bachelor and “Super Nanny” or any “Reality TV” show?

In my experience, drama leads to a potentially interesting story at the expense of someone’s sanity, reputation or good-standing.

Reputations falter at the expense of a bit of gossip, spreading statements that might be true, but someone just never bothered to check the facts. One man had to walk away from a respectable career as a lawyer due to a mistake someone else made. A fellow friend pushed everyone away by pursuing dramatic ends. I’ve lost many a friend through the functions and words inspired by drama and anger. I won’t put up with it.

I’ve come to ask myself, are those who actively participate in spreading these false and hurtful statements truly worth my time?

Every once in a while, I have to convince myself that the answer remains. No.

Proverbs chapter 13: 20 Keep company with the wise and you will become wise. If you make friends with stupid people, you will be ruined.

Proverbs chapter 10: 11 A good person’s words are a fountain of life, but a wicked person’s words hide a violent nature.

The next time you find yourself talking about a stupid thing someone else did, or something you don’t like about them, first ask yourself a few questions.

Is this really worth talking about?

Will this person possibly be seriously hurt from what I say?

Why am I talking about this?

Leave a Reply

