Sweaty Stuff

Advice: Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things.

I laughed when Jacob said this a few days ago, but the more I think about it, the more it makes sense to me.

Don’t sweat the petty things:don’t worry about things that won’t matter in the long run. Things like the barber cut your hair too short, or your favorite sandwich went out of style. Even harder things like not knowing where the money for everything will come from (I admit, I am guilty of that one.) Things have this tendency of working out somehow. Most of the time, in your hour of greatest need.
Jacob and I have been pressed for money for quite a while. I’ve been worried that we will run out of money. But then, my grandmother helped me find another job and we have a sizable amount coming back on our tax return. Our parents also go out of their way to help us transition, which is truly wonderful.

Don’t pet the sweaty things: unless it happens to be your husband (who is sweaty and gross quite frequently). Sweaty things (people, animals, sometimes objects people have been holding) are gross and slimy, and most people don’t want to touch them. When we know they are smelly and gross, we don’t want to touch them, we want to be far from them.
But, we can’t always tell if something is sweaty and gross. Those deceptively dirty things can trick us into touching them, and in turn make us dirty.
A couple of years ago, I had a boyfriend who never really made an effort to clean himself. He was often smelly and sweaty. I learned from him that those people, those things who don’t care enough to take care of themselves often will not care enough to take care of other people. He didn’t treat me very well and eventually I got away.

Now, I’m not about to tell you how to apply this to your life. I am just here to offer the metaphor. Apply it to what you will.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go find my sweaty husband.

Leave a Reply

