Into Another World

Confession: I love role playing.

I don’t remember when it first started, but at the age of seven I began pretending to be someone else and acted through their perspective instead of mine.

About the same time, I discovered my love of stories. Exploring them, creating them helped me to act trough someone else’s perspective. I could create characters and have their whole life play out, and I was in charge of that.

That’s why I want to write for a living. If I have one love outside of writing, it is that of role playing, of acting so well that I believe I am someone else. Writing stories is the perfect combination of being someone else and writing.

I never realized until writing this that I had another love outside of writing. For the past year or so, I have met other writers with a love of land or animal, with a passion to go alongside their writing skill. In meeting them, I felt undeveloped. I felt I needed to have another love, but all along I already had one.

Even with this mindset, I did not discover Dungeons and Dragons (D&D) until a few years ago. D&D is more than just a game to me. It’s a way to practice that morph into another mind around other people who will play off of that. It’s more than a nerdy past-time, it’s a true passion for me.

Thank you for helping me discover this passion. (you readers and you other people. You know who you are.)

I’m working on creating my own game. This summer, I will be a dungeon master for the first time, in control of my own world.

I can’t imagine a better way to start the summer.

One thought on “Into Another World

Leave a Reply

