Question Confession

Many of you know that Wednesdays are confession days. Recently, I came upon a set of questions that are very personal and could work very well for confessions. So, on Wednesdays, I may use one of those questions.

If you have a question you would like me to answer, feel free to ask it in the comments.

If you were ruler of the world, what would you do first?

Image by "notsogoodphotography" on flickr.

I would organize a world tour that taught the importance of respecting the agency of others. In my ruling, I would make clear to all that they had the choice of whether or not to respect laws and rulings, but with that choice they chose their own consequences.

Seriously, this issue is important. I am tired of people not respecting other people’s choices. Sure you don’t agree with their beliefs, perhaps you don’t even agree with who they are, but that does not give you the right to disrespect them. How do you like it when people tell you that you are wrong, or that you have no right to feel the way you do? They feel quite similar.

As human beings, we all have the right to validation, to respect and honor. You are allowed to disagree with the point of view of others, in fact doing so is quite healthy. But you have no place to completely downplay their feelings, or put them in the wrong. No one has the proper knowledge or experience to do so to any human being.

I may not be a homosexual. I may not agree with everything they fight for, everything they believe. But they should have every right we have. They have the right to marry whomever they choose, to work regardless of their sexual preference. They have the right to be treated like a human being, like their feelings matter, like their actions have merit. I know that many people may chastise me for saying so, but I will not back down from this.

My beliefs are not what matters in this instance. What is at stake is the basic right that every human being is entitled to. If you don’t agree with someone because of your religion, if you are so sure that homosexuality is a dark sin that cannot be forgiven, then leave that to God. He is the only one who can judge them. He knows everything that will matter in their judgement. God did not leave it up to you to decide their punishment.

Homosexuality isn’t the only matter in which people judge others. In fact, I am judged for my actions, even though many religious individuals approve of my lifestyle. No one is exempt from this judgement.

No one is exempt from basic human rights.

One thought on “Question Confession

  1. I wish every one had the same point of view as you. I am getting tired of this world’s elitist, conformist attitudes.

    Especially with the LGBT community. They never seem to get a break. People are ACTUALLY fighting to take their rights away in some parts of the world, which is sad.

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

