Potential Spoilers

Now that the semester is over, I can get back to regular blogging.

Honestly, I miss writing for an audience. Even though I only have a few regular readers, they still interact with and care about what I am doing.

Eventually, I want to do this on a larger scale with my world Aberon. Over the summer, I plan on working on the first of the Aberon chronicles. I hope that I can get it to agent quality by the end of the summer. I’m only working a few very part time jobs and starting up some dance classes.

I will also provide a semester in review entry later this week. But for now, I need to share with you one of the greatest books I have ever read.

Now, if you want to read the following, that’s fine. Except, if you haven’t read The Fault in Our Stars, stop everything. Go to your library or the bookstore and find a copy. Proceed to read the book and learn of life lessons John Green has shared with the world. Unless you don’t mind spoilers. Then you can go on reading what I have written below, and then proceed to get to the nearest copy of The Fault in Our Stars. Seriously, READ IT!

The review: I cannot do a short review. This may turn out to be an essay, so be warned.

Hazel Lancaster isn’t aware that her life should have a purpose until Augustus Waters comes along. Unlike most protagonists, she doesn’t possess any heroic qualities and is set up as flawed from the beginning. She is a very realistic character and you can relate to her as a flawed human being. Because Hazel has a dormant cancer, she’s detached from all of the worries a “normal” person is tied down by. She doesn’t really have reservations, but she doesn’t go out much either.

She falls in love with what seems to be a more protagonist like character. He’s missing a leg, but he believes in Something greater. He believes in living and dying for something greater. Yet Hazel finds this offensive; not everyone can live a life in search of Something Greater.

“Saved the kids,” he said.

“Temporarily,” I pointed out.

“All salvation is temporary,” Augustus shot back. “I bought them a minute. Maybe that’s the minute that buys them an hour, which is the hour that buys them a year. No one’s gonna buy them forever, Hazel Grace, but my life bought them a minute.”

There is so much truth in this book. And I apologize, my words are going all over the place. This book will show you the parts of life that many authors are afraid of pointing out. John Green has no such reservations and I admire him for that.

I’m off to go do some research, or some editing for Aberon.

DFTBA

Leave a Reply

