[Un]Warranted Fears

Lately, I can’t help but notice the horrible things happening in this world. Yesterday I read an article about the Colorado River drying up causing seven western states to go into a severe drought within the next 50 years. I live in one of those states.

I am a sensitive soul, an empath of sorts. For those of you who may not know, an empath picks up on the emotions and feelings of others, sometimes to a dangerous extent.

An empath can feel what someone else is feeling; physically, emotionally, mentally. Even sometimes when they don’t want to. Usually, I can tell how someone is really feeling: I’m incredibly observant and understand body language quite well.

Because of this ability, I tend to try and stay out of the news. When I hear about natural disasters, murders, or a political plan gone wrong, I tend to internalize those feelings. I feel that somehow what has happened is my fault, that I’m personally responsible to fix the problem. I don’t do well in crowds on some days, as I can pick up the emotions of everyone involved.

There’s a really good explanation of what empaths do here .

Now, I know this sounds ridiculous, but I am not making this up. Others have experienced my ability to do empathize to extreme levels. If there are too many people around, I have to leave to quell overwhelming feelings.

Often times, those feelings become so strong that they turn into fears, leaving me unable to deal with life at times. Last night, I couldn’t sleep because of how upset I was.

The reason? I could list a few, but mainly I’ve been afraid of all of the horrible things humanity is doing to itself.
We have a mismanagement of resources, leaving many people staring and thirsting while others simply toss out what they don’t want. People hate each other for out of control reasons and sometimes kill just to be right.

And I am powerless to do anything about it. I don’t have money to fund a humanitarian project for those who need it most. I can’t make water fall from the sky and prevent a drought affecting millions of people. Sometimes, I can’t even write in a way that people will listen to the urgency of my message.

That feeling of powerlessness terrifies me. I refuse to sit here and watch the human race tear itself apart, yet what can I do? Really, what power do I have to help people see what needs to be done?

That fear will stick with me for a long time. My empathy accentuates that fear and I don’t know how to make it stop.

What can we as individuals do to help save us as a society? What power do I have to help those who can’t help themselves?

Please pass this on. I feel that we all need to seriously consider these questions and maybe, if we come together, we can all find an answer.

Leave a Reply

