A letter to the vlogbrothers

I know my content isn’t the freshest, but I have to share this with you.

Tomorrow, the vlogbrothers will release their 1,000th video. In response to that, nerdfighteria has created a thank you website here: http://thanks-for-1000.tumblr.com/

I would like to share my response with you.
And while you have not met most of the nerdfighter community, you are a true friend to all within it.

Last night I was speaking with my husband about how the girls of nerdfigteria are so captivated by the two of you. From what I can see, it is in part because you refuse to act the way society deems a man should act. Instead, you strive to follow truth and treat others as human beings. Now I know this is second nature to you, but we as females, as “the submissive gender” are used to being treated as lower. We have submitted to being the lower half.

Not only do you refuse to treat us like that, you also proclaim loudly that those actions are wrong and that we are all equal. We are all awesome and we all deserve awesomeness. Thank you for standing by your standards, your way of life and showing us that we don’t have to listen to what the world tells us we should be. Thank you for reminding us that it’s okay to be awesome, that the world is actually a better place when we shine forth with who we are, regardless of what the world says.

You may not know me, Hank and John green, but I know that you are a true friend to me and to all of nerdfighteria. Thank you for 1000 reasons to remember that the world needs our unfettered awesome.

John, Hank, I’ll see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

