Not just a New Years’ resolution

Around the end of the semester, I took some time to seriously evaluate my lifestyle. I wish that I had posted this earlier, because now these might come off as New Years’ resolution. But let me assure you that they aren’t.

I have experienced a lot of stress from my lifestyle this past semester. I spent anywhere from 40-60 hours out of the house working and doing school work. I didn’t have time to make my own food or clean the house and I felt like I couldn’t let anyone down. I didn’t have time to exercise or take care of myself at all. I have some health issues that get worse with stress (and have gotten worse over the break).

After some evaluation, I have decided that I need to make these changes to my life. I am doing this in order to enjoy the life I have. Think of it as preventative medicine.

chickies

1. Refrain from taking on too many commitments:
This is the source of my problem. I have a hard time feeling like I’ve let people down and when I can’t come through for them, I feel like I let them down. This often leads to me taking on more commitments than I can handle. I’m taking a lighter course load and turning down opportunities (even though I want to do a lot more than I am doing).

2. Make more food at home:
I ate out a lot this past semester. I started to feel sick and gained about 15 pounds. A lot of studies prove that homemade food is a lot better for you than other food. I would rather spend time in the kitchen than time at the doctors. Plus, cooking is a relaxing activity for me and helps me destress (as odd as that may sound).

3. Exercise between 30 minutes to 1 hour per day
Many doctors have told me that my health complications will decrease or even go away with exercise. And I feel better every time I do it. I don’t think I need to argue this point much more. However, I invested in a treadmill desk which makes it more than easy to walk while I work.

4. Spend more time with my friends
I don’t know why, but spending time with people helps me destress. I work a lot on the computer and anything that takes me away from that helps me destress. And I feel that my purpose in life is to help people, so I have to spend time with them.

I am determined to stick with these things. Jacob will help me stay motivated.

What about you readers? What are some changes you are determined to make and stick with?

One thought on “Not just a New Years’ resolution

Leave a Reply

