Cop Shows

I’ve been ill for most of the holiday break, but that’s given me a lot of time to watch television. I’ve noticed a trend in television that I just can’t explain.

America loves cop shows. Seriously, there are a lot of them. Sure there are some good ones like Monk and X-files, but I just can’t explain why there are so many of them. Wikipedia has catalogued upwards of 300 of them.

Why do we have this fascination with cop shows? I don’t think people have a fascination with death, I’ve seen death a few times and I want nothing to do with it (you can’t get the images out of your head for days). But all of these shows usually go to solve a murder, they focus on finding the killer.

The only thing I can point to is that almost every show solves the cases they work on. They provide closure, something that life usually doesn’t give to us. So then tell me, dear readers, why do we crave closure so much? I know that I do, but I’m not sure why.

I’ll think about it and come back tomorrow with some sort of answer, but until then I want to know what you think. Why does the human race crave closure so much that they create instances where closure is guaranteed?

Leave a Reply

