Closure

I’ve been trying to come up with an answer to the question I posed in yesterday’s post, and I have little.

As a human race, we seem to like certainty. We like knowing what surrounds us and why things happen. We like cop shows because they solve the mysteries presented.

Most of the time, we shirk the unknown. We balk at the thought of being in a situation where we don’t know what’s going to happen. I can definitely sympathize with that. If I don’t know exactly what I am eating, I could die.

But on the other hand, I love trying new things. I love being in new situation where I have to figure out what to do and how to act.

Now that I think about it, I guess the difference between seeking closure and seeking new things is choice. We like to choose to do new things, but when they are forced upon us, when a loved one leaves us we want to know why. We want to feel like we are still in control.

We don’t want to think that sometimes we have no control over what happens to us. So, it’s easy to watch cop shows because the good guys end up taking control of the situation.

So you have my answer, what about yours? Why do we seek closure, and yet seek out new things to try?

Leave a Reply

