Obstacles

As humans, we face obstacles as part of life. The obstacles change to match the person and what might be considered easy for one person could be considered impossible for another. We all have strengths and weaknesses as various as the types of personalities around us.

I will be the first to admit that I face an obstacle many others I know face. I have poor body image and I am overweight. I have struggled with these things for as long as I can remember.

However, instead of just admit that these are problems to me I have decided to do something about it.

After a few months of trying to eat better on my own and actually gaining weight instead of losing weight, I decided that I needed outside help. I am now seeing a nutritionist who will help me figure out what my body needs to be healthy and no longer overweight. Hopefully, this is one step in the right direction towards confronting my poor body image.

However, I’m doing this for more than just good looks. I have a familial history of health issues and I know that the heavier I am, the worse these problems can be. I will not let my life be ruled by trips to the doctors and concerns that can be prevented with simply the right diet.

I am not doing this to be trendy. I’m doing this to improve my quality of life. I want to feel like I can keep up with my husband when we go on a hike up the mountain and I want to feel healthy enough to actually experience life instead of just recover from  an illness or a headache all the time.

I would like to use my blog as a way to update my progress. I won’t update every day, probably once every one to two weeks (in relation with how often I see my nutritionist).

I would like to hear about some of the obstacles you face and how you confront them. Are there other people out there like me with poor body issues, or is there something else that plagues your every day life? Tell me about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

