Self-forgiveness.

I don’t like accepting weakness. 

I like to think that I’m all powerful and can tackle anything that comes my way. But I can’t. I’m human, like everyone else on this planet. I have limitations and I fall short. But learning to adapt within those limitations can be exciting. I think it’s what we are here for. 

This is a huge step for me. For most of my life I have held myself responsible for things that go wrong, even if they are not in any way my fault. But now I will do my best to recognize my limits and responsibilities and when something falls within them I will move on. 

I mess up. And while most people around me will forgive me and tell me it’s okay, I often don’t forgive myself. My most common response is “I should have been able to do this. I should have been better.”

No more shoulds. If you catch me saying should, please remind me to stop. 

I forgive myself for eating things that are bad for me. 

I forgive myself for saying the wrong thing to the people I love. 

I forgive myself for “not being good enough”. 

I forgive myself for leaving my writing behind. 

I forgive myself for not being ready to do what the people around me can do. 

I forgive myself for messing up. 

You can too. 

Leave a Reply

