Can’t put a price tag on a good life

So one thing I want to focus on over the summer is my health. My genes are predisposed to a number of health problems (my grandfather died of a heart attack and my grandmother died of pancreatic cancer. I know a few
people in my family have diabetes) so I’m already up against a lot, even without any help of my own.

I want to combat that. I want to lead a quality life and I want to feel healthy and fit. For the first time
in my life, I would go so far as to say that I want an athletic body. Since I’m trying to take a breather for most of the summer, I figured that this would be the best time to do something like this. So here is what
I’m going to do this summer for my health.

1. Juicing:

juicer

The first thing I’m starting with is a cleanse. I have spent the past four months trying to eat healthy and exercise and I have only kept off seven pounds. I still don’t feel healthy and often feel slightly ill. To me, this says that there are some toxins in my body. They need to be flushed.

I did some research and found that the safest and healthiest way to detox is through a juice fast. I watched a movie called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead where two men go on an extended juice fast and it changed their lives. They went from being 300-500 pounds, taking a lot of medication and overall suffering in their life to a more manageable weight ( I think they lost an average of 110 pounds) and taking no medication because they didn’t need it.

Now, I’m not in as dire a circumstance as they are, so my juice fast will not be as extreme. They went for two months, whereas mine will only be for two days. But this is only the beginning, it’s not meant to be a permanent solution nor should anyone treat it as such. This is where the next step comes in.

2. Change in Diet

eat-organic-food

I’ve slowly been making changes to my diet. I’ve, for the most part, cut out sugar and processed foods. However, once I am finished with my juice fast, I’m going to make some other changes.

Lately I’ve been reading a book called Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels, and it makes a lot of sense. She mainly talks about how hormones can mess up everything, but that it’s not difficult to get them under control. She outlines a diet plan that is healthy and sustainable that will help regulate those hormones and the rest of the body’s function. The plan focuses on a few key things, with three major steps: Remove, Restore and Balance. There are foods to remove, foods to store, and ways of balancing eating them for optimal benefit.

She also pushes organic for a few reasons. One, they guarantee no pesticides, no hormones put into the meat and overall little else outside of the food itself. I don’t want to eat chemicals on top of my food and while it is expensive at the forefront, it’s been shown to help with medical problems. If I put the money upfront to eat right and be healthy, I can save a lot of money that I might have to otherwise spend in medical bills, and no one wants that.

3. Becoming Physically Fit

content

I started working out seriously about a month ago and my mood improves the more I exercise. I know that if I get fit, my body will feel great. I have found so many resources on working out and getting in shape that I don’t think I will have any trouble in knowing what to do. I don’t have an exercise plan yet, but I’ll get there.

4. Relaxation

yoga_pose_2

I know that a lot of the minor medical issues I’ve had are because of the massive amounts of stress in my life. I need to minimize stress’s impact and in my studies, along with the steps I’m already taking, I’ve found the best way to do that is to meditate and relax. I’d like to try yoga and breathing meditation, but I’m just barely getting started in exploring that route.

And that is my plan. I know that some of you may not agree with it, but I’m not asking you to do it. I’m doing this for me because I’ve put a lot of thought into this and it is the best option for me and my health. I ask that you please respect it, because it is a lifestyle change and it’s hard. But, I am confident that I will be happier and healthier because of it.

Are there things you want to do for your health? Share them in the comments below!

One thought on “Can’t put a price tag on a good life

  1. Good luck with everything! My sister does a whole lot of juicing and it’s very healthy. Just to warn you though… You’ve probably read about this but when you cleanse you will most likely go into detox mode and you will feel pretty sick for several days. This happened to me when I became a vegetarian. It’s kind of awful but if you can get through it you will feel amazing <3

Leave a Reply

