Admit it

Zen Pencils delivers some impactful comics that really make me think about life. I recommend reading some of what they put out, if not all of it.

This one captures how I feel on a day to day basis:

http://zenpencils.com/comics/2013-02-05-leary.jpg?9d7bd4/

Go take a look at it before you keep reading. It’ll only take a couple minutes.

Done? Okay, now we can talk about it.

Why is it that those of us who don’t feel like we fit in with everyone else try to dress up like them? Because being a loner stucks. I know because I’ve been there. When my two good childhood friends moved away and I saw them only occasionally, I felt that I didn’t “fit in” with anyone. I didn’t really have any friends at school and I didn’t want to because they weren’t the type of people I wanted to be around. So I didn’t really try.

But then I got to middle school. Not only did I have to face the perils of that hell, but I also had to watch my parents go through extreme medical conditions that turned our lives upside down. I grew up quickly, but my body was still going through puberty. When I got to high school, I tried my best to fit in somewhere. I got a boyfriend that made me think even less of myself and that everyone told me to stay away from. I tried to look like everyone else and act the way I thought they acted.

And let me tell you, I was miserable. I hated it. But at least I wasn’t alone, right?

Honestly, as a child it didn’t matter that much to me that I didn’t fit in with other kids. I had my books, my backyard and my imagination. I didn’t need anything else because I was living in other worlds and it fuels my desire to write and create to this day. But my parents saw that I didn’t have any friends and took me to a “how to make friends” class and that told me that being friendless was not an option.

But what I didn’t understand was that I needed friends that understood me. That accepted me for who I am and didn’t feel the need to change me before liking me. I didn’t really get that until I met Jacob.

Now I’m happy because I know my friends will accept whatever crazy hairdo I decide to wear. (Don’t worry, I won’t shave my head. Well…not all of it). They will accept whatever I decide to do with my life and they will still love me.

And now, I’m not afraid to reach out to people. Because I took a chance in reaching out to Jacob, and then look what happened with that!

Seriously, if you feel alone, if you feel that no one will accept you for who you are, reach out to me. I will support you because I know where you’ve been. And no one needs to be alone, especially in a crowd of people.

Leave a Reply

