Success is a four letter word

I wanted to have a word with you on what success truly means.

A lot of people tell me that I do so much and that they don’t know how I do it. They are impressed with just how much I’m doing, what kinds of things I’m doing and commend me. I tend to react with a “thanks, but I know I could be doing better.” They generally look at me like I’m crazy.

The reason I don’t feel like I actually do much is because I’m not “successful”. Now you may be wondering what the difference is. The only difference is the measurement of success. I am not a straight A student (although my gpa gets me on the dean’s list most semesters), I’m not on track for a job that makes lots of money, I’m not saving the environment, I’m not going to all of the school events, ergo I’m not successful in life.

Isn’t that a little messed up? I want to put an end to this. The only person that can measure what success means is you.

So I’m going to give myself a boost. I AM successful. When I stop to think about it, I am one of the most successful people I know. I say that because when I stop to look at my life,  I see just how much I’ve actually accomplished. A lot of it comes in ways that people can’t always see, but here it is:

-I have tremendous faith in spiritual things and a lot of love for the world around me.
-I empathize on such a great level with the world that I often avoid the news just so that I can leave the house.
-I come from humble roots and am a year away from getting a college degree. I think I might be the first person in my close family to get one
-I am in the honors program
-I am on a slam poetry team and at the very least competing on a local level
-I have a successful and happy relationship
-I keep my place relatively clean
-I go to church and participate in my faith. It’s one of the greatest things in my life and I will defend it with all of my life
-I have more than a few close friends that I talk to regularly
-I have enough experience and skills that my resume could easily be three pages long, but I can fit it on one page
-I run a blog
-I leave lasting impressions on almost everyone I meet
-I frequently get comments from people that I am doing everything right, that I am an inspiration, that they look up to me and admire me. I also frequently brush them off, because I’m not “all that great”
-I have a part time job
-I have a few projects I’m working on along with my internship and job. I plan to one day become a best-selling author and have enough talent to become one.
-I go to a liberal arts college and will graduate in a year
-I have finally started traveling
-I struggle with depression and anxiety on a daily basis
-I am working to take back my health and become physically fit
-There are probably more things I can think of that aren’t here

Now if that’s not successful, than nothing is.

Seriously, to all of you out there who think you aren’t all that, take another look at your life. Look at what you are doing, internally and otherwise. Just because you aren’t like the perfect student or the great executive does not mean you have no success. There are a lot of successful people in this world, more than they would have you think.

I don’t mean to post this to brag and say look at what I can do. I have a hard time acknowledging that I’m doing anything at all. But I’m here to tell you that isn’t true. You are wonderful and beautiful. Don’t let anyone else tell you otherwise.

Leave a Reply

