Not your “best”

These past few weeks have been incredibly difficult for me. My health took a plunge in the toilet and put my life temporarily on hold. I felt like I would be stuck in that forever and never be able to do what I wanted to do with my life. Here I was, struggling to get out of bed on a day to day basis. How could I leave the house or work on a number of projects I have in mind? I felt completely worthless and I know I was not at my best.

Today is a new day. Last week I found out that I have hypothyroid and most likely one or more food intolerances. I am now on medication for my hypothyroid and am avoiding certain foods and I feel better than I have in a long time. One thing I can say in looking back though is that I need to make more time for myself. People are not meant to work and sit all the time. When I take time to relax and breathe, I feel better. Sometimes I think we have to have some sort of health issue to remind us of those things. We have to be forced to take a break, whether we like it or not.

Being ill has made me determined to become healthy. I don’t want to have to rely on medications just to get by. I know that they will help me, especially with my hypothyroid, but I believe that I can change my lifestyle to be healthy and full of energy. And that is the life I want to live.

If any of you feel like something is keeping you back, I’d love to talk to you. I know you can get through this and be your “best” again. These moments do not last forever, but they take work to get out of.

Leave a Reply

