Just A Geek

Every once in a while, I come across something that just clicks with me. Someone will say or write something that reflects how I look at the world around me. Just A Geek by Wil Wheaton completely floored me with how much Mr. Wheaton looks at things the way I do.

Just_a_Geek_cover

Mr. Wheaton reflects on how his decision to leave his role as Wesley Crusher in Star Trek: The Next Generation affected his life. Originally, he thought the series barred him from a successful film career, so he quit and then didn’t have that much success. He struggled with finding work for 10 years or more, being told that he was the best actor, but didn’t fit the part.

The passage that struck me the most was when he was asked to come back to play Wesley Crusher in the last TNG movie. He viewed everything with awe and didn’t let his self doubt control him. He vowed to enjoy everything and remembered why he loved the Star Trek family in the first place. And then a few months later, they ended up cutting him from the movie entirely. He felt that no one at Star Trek wanted him around and the voice of self doubt and proving himself to everyone came back.

I personally view Wil Wheaton as a successful person. To see that he too is human, that he struggled with providing for his family and making things work encourages me to keep going. Near the end of the book, he writes that a lot of signs from the universe pointed him towards being a writer. Now, he’s incredibly successful and does well in a few roles here and there.

Reading this reminded me of a few truths. We are all human. Even the incredibly successful people we look up to. At some point in their life, they struggled. They hit rock bottom and didn’t know if they would ever get back up. But they did. And if they had given up, they wouldn’t have touched the lives of so many people.

What I love about Mr. Wheaton’s style is that he doesn’t hide anything. He doesn’t pretend that he’s this great person with no flaws. In fact he brings the reader over and points out his flaws. And then he accepts them and still creates work that helps others.

Lately, I’ve been getting cues that writing on my blog is important. I know I haven’t been the best at keeping this updated, but I’ve been inspired. When I read Just A Geek I thought, I should do that. But I’m not visible enough for anyone to care.

And then I saw that when Mr. Wheaton started, he only had four readers. Who cares if I’m not visible enough for people to seek me out? What I have to say can still help them.

And at the end of the day, that’s what really matters.

 

Leave a Reply

