The Power of Words

Most of you know by now that I love stories. From movies to video games, comics to books and even just hearing someone’s life story. I find meaning in everything and wish that I didn’t have to get a job so that I could just hear all of the stories and live the human experience.

Every once in a while, I come across something that clicks. The phrase validates what I’m going through and helps me know what I should do to move on. Last week, I read a graphic novel called Daytripper that is a poignant and important contemplation on life and death. If you’ve got a few hours, and want to think about where you are in life, I highly recommend reading this.

daytripper-cover

 

Out of the entire book, the following quotes stuck out to me and I’ll tell you why.

“You are this boat floating on an endless ocean. These baskets contain wishes, desires…forces that drive your will to move forward. However, if you stay here, just staring at them…sooner or later…they’re all going to sink. In order to go after your dreams–you must live your life.”

Lately, I’ve been concerned about what I’m going to do with my life. How am I going to hold a job, chase after what I love, be healthy and be with my loved one? This quote prompted me to start chasing my dream of writing. If I work to get noticed now, then maybe when I’m ready to publish a book it’ll be enough to get my foot in the door. But most importantly, I have to try. I can’t let my worry of how stop me from starting to life what I love.

“Life is like a book, son. And every book has an end. No matter how much you like that book…you will get to the last page…and it will end.”

While this passage originally talked about life as a whole, I believe it applies to parts of our lives. Right now, I’m coming up on my senior year of college. I love being in college. I don’t want it to end. But knowing that all parts of life end eventually helps me not to worry so much about what I’m going to do when I finish college. Honestly, the more I think about it, the more it terrifies me. But chapters open the way they are meant to, and it’s often not in ways we would think. I’m going to enjoy this chapter now instead of racing to the end to know it’s last words.

Leave a Reply

