In which I run a 5k

I apologize for my lack of posts last week. I’m just getting used to going back to school and balancing my personal life. Next week I will be back to my normal schedule. But for this week, I wanted to share with you some major events that happened in my life recently.

Almost three weeks ago, I started running. Although I cannot run fast nor am I rather good at running, there’s the release that everyone talks about after they go for a long (or short) run. I need that to combat my depression.

A week after I started running seriously, I ran my first 5k. I know, that sounds crazy, but I just couldn’t pass it up. It’s called The Color Run. Someone took inspiration from the Holi festival and decided to throw colored chalk (they actually used cornstarch or something) at you while you run. It actually helps you know kilometer posts and how far you’ve gone. My brother-in-law Lucas ran with me, with was a huge help because he pushed me through when I wanted to stop.

This is what we looked like when we started out.

933975_10151813933174844_272268824_n

And here we are crossing the finish line (aren’t I beautiful? Also, I want to know why everyone else around me has more color on them than I do.)

IMG_4853

Most of the color throwing happened after everyone finished the race, but here’s what we looked like after we crossed the finish line.

933975_10151813933194844_1027616313_nThen there was a color throwing party. My mother-in-law managed to get a great photo of all of us throwing color at each other at the same time.

IMG_4859

And then here’s what we looked like when we emerged (I definitely got hit worse that time.)

IMG_4867

 

 

And finally, a profile shot. Just to make sure you know how much pink coated my face. (Aren’t we lovely?)

IMG_4864

 

I am so doing this again next year. My next fitness goal is to run a 5k without stopping. I hope I can do it for the Zombie Walk.

 

 

Leave a Reply

