In Which I am Inspired

The past few years I have devoted myself to finding truth and knowledge to enrich my life. As a poet and as someone who wants to feel what this earth has to offer, I have this tendency to find inspiration and light almost anywhere: in a sunset, on a billboard, sometimes in watching shows no one else seems to like.

I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  Every six months, the church gathers together for what is called General Conference. Speakers are selected, but not given an assigned topic. They are asked to speak on what they feel is appropriate.

This past weekend we had General Conference and in all the years I’ve been watching it, I have never felt so inspired by what the speakers had to say. One apostle spoke on mental illness and how it is a very real, very damaging and difficult trial. One spoke on the power and importance of women and another spoke on the power of tithing.

Even if you don’t believe in the church, even if you despise it, I encourage you to listen to what the speakers have to say. They are wise, they speak from experience and they know how to talk to people outside the church. Later on, I’m going to share individual talks and explain how they affected me and why I think they are important. But for now, I would like to share with you this very important part of my life and encourage you to look for yourselves and see what we have to offer.

You can go here to listen to any part of conference. One thing that changed this year is that they started broadcasting the priesthood session, which could be incredibly interesting. And of course, if you’d like to talk about any of it, I’d be more than willing to talk with you.

Leave a Reply

