In Which I Share Some of My Insights

My next few posts will cover one talk from conference and share with you the light I received from watching them.

The first one I’d like to talk about is from Elder D. Todd Christofferson called The Moral Force of Women. In a world where women are still oppressed, sexualized and generally looked upon as less than, it’s easy for us to get discouraged and feel that what we do just isn’t helping. Elder Christofferson begs to differ.

d-todd-christofferson-10I strongly suggest you go and read/watch/listen to the talk here. But let me tell you a bit of why. He starts the talk by admitting that the contributions and support of women are completely under-appreciated and he thanks us for the work that we do. He then gives examples of all of the great things women do without realizing just how much work they are doing.

“Sister Daines took notice of me and often expressed her confidence in my abilities and potential, which inspired me to reach high—higher than I would have without her encouragement.” 

People have said similar things to me, that my encouragement and support of them, their work and their beliefs helped them reach places they could never have gotten to on their own. Yet just reaching out to someone and telling them that you believe in them, it doesn’t seem like a difficult thing. Surprisingly, few people do it.

One of my favorite parts of the talk is when he quotes another talk, saying this

“The world has enough women who are tough; we need women who are tender. There are enough women who are coarse; we need women who are kind. There are enough women who are rude; we need women who are refined. We have enough women of fame and fortune; we need more women of faith. We have enough greed; we need more goodness. We have enough vanity; we need more virtue. We have enough popularity; we need more purity.”

What a great way to feel empowerment. After hearing those words, I no longer feel the need to be like so many women around me, but rather I want to be someone who lifts others up. Who encourages them and helps them see the greatness within them. This is why I don’t identify with being a woman at times. I will not be the type of person the world tells me to be. I will not be victimized, I will not be oppressed, I will not be lesser than. I will also not be better than or oppress those that might do so to me. Because I believe in kindness and love. And that is what I will believe in until my time on this earth is over.

Leave a Reply

