In Which I Have Too Much to Do to Follow Society

Society has a path for us. We graduate high school, get a degree, land a stellar job, marry a beautiful spouse, have beautiful children, retire in splendor. This is the path to success and splendor.

So then why are so many people unhappy if following the path society laid out for us leads to happiness?

Because it’s a load of bull. Sure, it might work for some people, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 21 years on this earth, it’s that there is no one size fits all for anything. The variety of people calls for a variety of options and solutions.

I mentioned in my last post that I was part of a group called AMP. In our session last week, one of our mentors said something that confirmed what I was already contemplating. He said something along the lines of “as long as you do what makes you happy, you get good at it. The money comes as you get good at what you do and love it”.

About a week beforehand, I decided that getting a “real job” wasn’t for me. I have so many projects and words and inspiration I want to share with others that if I were to pursue them seriously, I wouldn’t have the time or mental capacity to work a real job. Add to that I am so blessed to have a husband who supports me and wants me to be happy. I’ve actually struggled to stay happy in almost any traditional job. I’ve found a great part-time position where I tutor foreign language students learning English. I plan to keep this job until I do well in my creative projects.

Just to give you a bit of a taste of what I’m planning, here’s my current project list:

-Finish editing a story to submit to the Writer’s of The Future contest. Submit every quarter until I win
-Write Poetry 1x per week
-Network: keep social media updated and stay involved to build an audience
-A novel series involving matrix, apocalyptic and dystopian elements
-Maintain video game blog (which includes time to play games and review them)
-Create a youtube channel that discusses spirituality and the inner life
-Get on top of my health. One day maybe a marathon runner
-Examine how the Band Empire of the Sun takes from Incan Mythology
-Create a tumblog that examines the social issues confronted in the podcast Welcome to Nightvale

And that’s just to start with. Who has time for a job that doesn’t lead to happiness or even advance in a field they want to be in?

30819-Sweet-Brown-funny-gif-j2gJ

Not me. I am so lucky to have my needs met so I can pursue what makes me truly happy. I know many others who want to do this simply can’t because they don’t have the means. I’m not going to waste time in doing what society says I should do. Because who’s to say that what I have to offer isn’t needed? I will contribute just as much, if not even more so, than those who follow the system.

Just watch me and see what I can do.

Leave a Reply

