In Which I Give a Brief Overview of What I Have Learned Over the Past Four Months

This semester might hold the record for the most change within one semester. Enough so that I feel the need to split it up into a few posts. I could easily spend the rest of the year and beyond talking about what I’ve been through, and I’m sure I will continue to talk about it in some manner for some time to come. But for now, let me give you a brief overview of what this semester has been like for me. Please, if you’re interested in anything or want me to expound upon something, let me know and I’d be happy to talk about it with you. For now, I will put each thing into a bullet point.

  • I decided that Slam Poetry is not the medium for my work
  • I took on the heaviest course load of my entire college career
  • In taking on that course load, I discovered that school is actually incredibly difficult and stressful for me
  • My body became more sensitive and I discovered more food intolerances
  • I began changing my lifestyle to incorporate whole foods and exercise
  • That is, until I developed a mysterious illness that forced me to cut a contract position short and stop tutoring for some time
  • Three months later, I believe I have something called Irritable Bowel Syndrome, which requires a lifestyle change that I had already begun to implement
  • In doing Portfolio Workshop, I discovered I didn’t want to work for anyone but myself
  • Which means that come graduation, I will have already been working towards a writing and YouTube career in place of a “real job”
  • Don’t think that I won’t be working. If anything, I will be working more than many in a traditional job, as I have to take care of many things a boss would take care of for his or her employees
  • But I know I will be happier in the long run by doing this
  • This approach will in turn give me the ability to exercise regularly, practice yoga and implement and keep a healthy diet in my life
  • Which will lead to better life quality
  • I discovered that I had ignored a lot of emotional troubles and hadn’t dealt with somethings that happened quite some time ago
  • I also discovered that I couldn’t keep ignoring them
  • I started going to therapy to help me figure out how to address these things that had troubled me for so long
  • I am still figuring out how to deal with many of them
  • I also decided that I wanted to start a YouTube channel that talked about internal struggles and the life we have inside of us
  • I began to come to terms with living in the moment
  • Although I still get impatient from time to time, I know that things will come in their due time

There might very well be more, but I think as an overview, that really gives an idea of what I’ve been through. There’s of course examples and instances of each thing, but I can get into each of those later. For the next few days, I’m going to address some of these points. I hope that in doing so, I can give some of you the insight that I’ve gained from going through this experience.

Leave a Reply

