In Which I Keep Reflecting

The end of this year is upon us and the start of a new one approaches. I’ve seen many posts that reflect on this year and exclaim that next year will be better, or still that it will be the best year yet.

I’m not one who enjoys following the trend, but I too find myself thinking about what I’ve accomplished this year and even wondering what I will face next year. Come next fall, I won’t be returning to classes; I’ll already have graduated. My life will change permanently. I will have a college degree and that is no small feat.

However, I don’t want to set out “goals”. Sure, there are things I want to do, BUT I find that things like “resolutions” and “goal-setting” don’t quite grasp what I’m thinking about. A lot of what’s happened to me isn’t visible: I didn’t get married, get a new job, or move to great places. Instead I changed how I view the world, how I view myself. And these changes have been some of the best to happen in my life. I’m less stressed, less worried about making my life work out perfectly and definitely less worried about living up to the expectations of others. 

The biggest shift that happened inside of me was finally reaching out for what I need, regardless of what others might think about what I’m doing. That shift made me start thinking about why I am this way and what I can do to keep getting better. 

If anything, that’s my goal for 2014: be better tomorrow than I was today everyday. 

Sure, there are things I want to do, but nothing I’m really going to hold myself to religiously. Because with a goal like that, anything can happen.

One thought on “In Which I Keep Reflecting

Leave a Reply

