In Which A New Year Begets A New Experience

Technically, what I’m about to describe didn’t happen during the new year, but since new year’s generally deals with new beginnings, I thought today would be a perfect day to talk about it.

Two days ago, I had my in-laws over for dinner and to just talk about somethings I had been experiencing of late. If you’ve been reading my posts of late, you’ll know that I’ve gone through a whole lot of food anxiety with being able to eat food that didn’t hurt or somehow cause a lot of grief. Well, I’ve started eating specifically for IBS symptoms and my food grief has all but disappeared.

Now this isn’t news. The one thing that I’ve basically given up is feeling like I have to give up tasty food in order to live day to day. I basically accepted that I would just have to eat blandly and not really enjoy what I had to do in order to survive.

However, my mother-in-law gave me a book called Eating For IBS that has seriously changed how I’ve thought and acted about eating. Two nights ago I tried a recipe from that book and I actually wanted to keep eating. It tasted so rich and flavorful and for once in a long time, I enjoyed what I was eating. 

book_eatingforibs_sm

Some of you might not understand the gravity of this, but anyone with food allergies can relate to finding a new food that both tastes good AND doesn’t give them grief later on.

For any of you experiencing dietary issues, especially for anyone who may be suffering from IBS, seriously check this book out. And if any of it sounds like what you are going through, then even try it out. It has made my life better and helped me stress less about what I’m eating and how it will affect me. Literally, it has changed my life.

Leave a Reply

